Green Goddess Cauli Rice

Ever have those weekends filled with too much sugar and too few vegetables?

Ya, me neither. I can’t imagine having waffles for breakfast, sugary coffee for lunch, and ice cream & cookies for dinner .

(*cough* it was all “paleofied”)

If you were to have such a day this would be the dish for you. I mean, it’s green. Can’t get much healthier than that. Plus the name makes you a goddess through association. Isn’t that how it works?

I’m going with yes, that’s how it works. It’s only two days into the week and I already want to crawl into a blanket hole. If indulging in green “rice” and calling myself a goddess makes it better then that is indeed how things work.

Be a goddess. Make this.

Green Goddess Cauli Rice

1 head cauliflower

1/2 tbsp ghee, or coconut oil

1 avocado

1 cup basil leaves, loosely packed

1 lemon

4 tbsp olive oil

salt and pepper

Chop cauliflower into florets and place in food processor. Pulse until cauliflower is broken up into rice sized pieces. Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat and melt ghee. Pour cauli rice into the skillet, add a pinch of salt and pepper, and sauté until cauli is cooked, about 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, place avocado, basil, olive oil, 1/4 cup water, and lemon juice in food processor. I like things lemony, so I used all the lemon’s juice. If you aren’t such a lemon fan use the juice of half the lemon. Puree until smooth, adding salt and pepper to taste.

Once cauli rice is cooked, remove from heat and pour green goddess mixture into skillet. Stir to combine and serve.

I feel better already, bring on the week.

59 thoughts on “Green Goddess Cauli Rice

  1. Reblogged this on alexandra elizabeth ann montgomery and commented:
    I made this for lunch today and can I just say ah-maze! Amazing. Had it with some rocket and it was truly brilliant, strangely nutty in flavor. I used coconut oil and subsituted the basil for some coriander that was perishing in my kitchen, delish!

  2. Pingback: Southwestern Succotash | girlmeetspaleo

  3. Morning! I followed you on Twitter yesterday. I also googled your green goddess cauliflower recipe about 3 times, once to make my grocery list and twice to make it. And it was TOTALLY worth it! We both loved it, very nice, well rounded flavor! I used half the lemon and then tasted it all mixed together. And then added the other half of the lemon. This recipe is definitely going into the regular rotation! Thanks! Tonight I’m making your southwestern succotash recipe to serve with a grilled pork tenderloin. Keep the recipes coming!

  4. Pingback: Green Goddess Cauli Rice | Harvest Whole Health

  5. Pingback: Paleo Green Goddess Cauliflower 'Rice' | Inspired Eats | Eat. Heal. Thrive.

  6. Pingback: Whole 30 Meal Plan — Week 5 (THE LAST WEEK!)

  7. Pingback: Getting Started / Day 1 | whole30daybyday

  8. Pingback: Day 14 | whole30daybyday

  9. Pingback: Eating Paleo and Running 100+ miles | I see trails

  10. Pingback: 4 Recipes / 3 TV Shows / 2 Movies / 1 Book

  11. Pingback: Green Goddess Cauli Rice | The Bitchin' Kitchenette

  12. Pingback: Day 1. | My First Whole30 Adventure

  13. Pingback: Marvelous Monday: 03/17

  14. Pingback: Grocery Budget Experiment {Weeks 3 & 4}

  15. Pingback: No-Equipment Arm Toning Workout

  16. Pingback: It’s Baseball Season! | Barr & Table

Leave a Reply

