Glazed Mahi Mahi & Cauliflower Mash

Saturdays are such conflicting days for me.  Half of me wants to be super productive, get everything clean, and cook a million meals for the week.  Ok, maybe it’s less than half of me because I have yet to do all of that on any Saturday, ever. Or any other day of the week.

The majority of me wants to be lazy with Cj all day long.  Fortunately , he worked 10 hours yesterday so when he finally got home being lazy is exactly what we did.  (not fortunately, I’d rather him not work, but whatever, I’ll take any time I can get)

Breakfast: scrambled eggs with grilled chicken. It’s crazy how much better organic chicken really does taste.

After I ate I did some dishes and then hit up the gym with Stephy. Thank god, I needed some motivation.

Sweat Sesh: *a bunch of different ab exercises, 15 reps of each. I lost count because we were chatting our asses off.  If only that burned calories.

*15 minutes on some strider machine.  It’s like a hybrid of some sort of elliptical, weird and hard.

*20 minutes elliptical

Thought it wasn’t the hardest workout, it sure felt good and it made me sweaty.

After, we came home and I whipped up some food super quick

Lunch: Stir fired asian veggies with shrimp and chicken.  I cooked the veggies in coconut oil, then towards the end added toasted sesame oil, a splash of fish sauce, and coconut aminos.  Stephy doesn’t normally like veggies, but she liked this! That girl needs more veggies in her life 🙂

Dinner: Grilled glazed mahi magi with cauliflower mash.  Super easy and super tasty.

I brushed the fish with some homemade paleo bbq sauce and then cooked it in a pan with coconut oil.  For the mash I steamed cauliflower with garlic, and then pureed the shit out of it once it was tender.  Cracked pepper, salt, a dash of nutmeg, and a tbsp of butter finished it off.  It wasn’t exactly like mashed potatoes (obviously), but it was the perfect paleo substitute.

Cj inhaled the meal so I know it’s a keeper! Can’t wait to experiment with the mash.  I saw a delicious looking parsnip, carrot, and cauliflower mash over at Nom Nom Paleo, can’t wait to give it a try!

Peace out peeps, the couch is callin’ my name.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Shanny says:

    OK, what are coconut aminos? I’ve seen it mentioned all over…..

    I steam my cauliflower, put it in the Magic bullet until puréed with some chicken broth, garlic powder and dried thyme powder. Top w/ coconut butter & salt and it’s killer comfort food!

    1. It’s the paleo version of soy sauce ! tastes a bit different, but it’s a good substitute. Coconut butter on any mash would be divine, I have got to try it! do you make your own or buy it? I tried making some, but with my poor excuse of a food processor it never turned out :-/

Leave a Reply

