Some Paleo Grub

Soooo, I suck at blogging.  I get the idea in my mind that I don’t do anything interesting enough to blog about, or that my photos are too shitty to post.

Then I remember that I do this for myself, to keep my lazy butt on track.

I guess the point is there will be plenty more of awkward iPhone photos to come. Why not start off with some of recent eats.

beef sliders w/ mushrooms & onions

These sliders were soooo good! I got the recipe from the Paleo Comfort Foods cookbook.  The recipe called for adding the mushrooms and onions in raw, but I couldn’t bring myself to do that.  I sautéed them first in some bacon fat, then added them in.

 Perfect for us raw onion/muchroom haters, and perfect for quick meals all week.  We had them wrapped up in some lettuce w/ pickles and avocado. Mmmm.

leftovers for lunch, better than you'd think

Those may look like some boring leftovers, but man, they were good.  Strawberries, cauliflower mash (from the same cookbook up above) w/ Trader Joe’s sausage, and some asian cabbage stir fry. Take a closer look…

cabbage, carrots, coconut aminos, fish sauce, and sesame oil

I didn’t think I’d like cabbage, but it turned out supa tasty.  Thank god, cause that cabbage head had been sitting in my fridge for weeks, and it probably would’ve stayed for a couple more had I not craved asian food.

roast beef, sauerkraut, and an egg

I’ve been reading a lot lately about how good sauerkraut is for the gut, so I caved and bought some good all natural kraut.  I thought I hated the stuff, but after tasting some that wasn’t so cheap, it’s not so bad.  May take some getting used to, but I can deff get some in daily, especially if it’s with yummy meat and a yolky egg.

lemon chicken, roasted broccoli, and cauliflower mash

This dinner was so good! I marinated the chicken in olive oil, lemon, garlic, salt, and pepper, then roasted it up in the oven.  Served with some lemon roasted broccoli and cauliflower mash.  This meal really reminded of of old school traditional chicken dinners.  Didn’t even miss the potatoes one teeny tiny bit.

ground "taco" turkey, onions, peppers, sweet potatoes, celery, an egg, and bacon

I had some extra turkey meat and sweet potatoes in the fridge, so this hash was the perfect solution.  We had a ton of leftovers, which were perfect for quick lunches all week.

eggs, onions, peppers, and tomatoes with sour cream & chives and home fries

Cj worked super early this morning, but got off around 8 so he surprised me with breakfast in bed from our favorite breakfast joint, which happens to be right down the street.  Normally this meal comes with toast and tortillas, but I requested them without.  One of the hardest things to do. ever.  I even made sure the home fries weren’t coated in anything, and except for the frying, they’re paleo.

Looking back on these eats makes me hungry.  Time to go find something sweetish for dessert!

ha, oh by the way… check my super sweet iPhone drawing skills… (for the app Draw Something aka the best game ever)

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Paleo update: I’ve been paleo eating for about a month now, so I think it’s a good time to weigh in (ha, pun!)

I’m down 13 pounds, and Cj surpassed his plateau and is down another 12

All just from eating paleo (while having some bad cheat days in there), predominately only doing yoga as workouts, and not counting calories ONCE! Safe to say we both feel better than ever, Cj sleeps through the nights now, and it’s becoming “easy”.

We’re never going back!!!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Linds says:

    Congrats on your success! I’m almost at my 2 month paleo-versary and I’m loving every minute of it! Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

