Dreaming of Those Darn Potatoes

Howdy! Hope your day has been as grand as mine.  Not much can beat a morning work shift followed by too many errands.

Woohoo, grocery shoppin.

I kid, I kid. I always have a good time shopping around with my handsome man.

On a more serious note, this was the best breakfast I’ve had in way too long…

3 eggs, fajita seasoned chicken, bell peppers, onions, and sliced green chiles served with salsa, bacon, and potatoes

Damn good.  Cj and I hit up The Glenwood for breakfast the other morning, a cute little local joint not too far from us. I had called ahead to see how they cooked their potatoes, more specifically to see if they’re gluten free.  They were sooo nice about it, unlike our usual breakfast joint I also called.  The Glenwood offered to make them separate in some olive oil (instead of their normal soybean oil), which was all I needed to hear.

The potatoes were amazing, and I felt good eating them knowing they were paleo approved, at least as much as potatoes can be.

3 eggs stuffed with bacon and cheese with a side of bacon and special potatoes

This was Cj’s.  Ya, I don’t think he had enough bacon either.

After a great breakfast (which was under 20 bucks!), we headed to a local used book store to make some big bucks. Well, actually only 28, but that’s prettttty big for this college student. I like to think I’m smart and save my money, but I never seem to back that up. Instead I took my newly earned cash and started searching for paleo books.  Look what I found!

It was only 3 bucks after I used the trade-in money !!! I came home and read every. single. page. It’s love I tell ya.

On to more food, check some other recent eats (though they weren’t nearly as good as those potatoes up there)

For lunch I had some leftover fish taco fish on the leftover fish taco slaw topped with the leftover fish taco guacamole.  Mmmm, fish tacos. Love ’em.

Remember how I mentioned that Kombucha obsession? Well I couldn’t get my grimy hands on any the other day so I settled for the next best thing.

Not too shabby, and since it’s 100% juice, it’s 100% paleo, right? Riiiiiiiight.

After drinking this I hoofed it to the nearest kombucha outlet and found this gem…

I practically chugged it. I felt all amazing and organic-fied after, so I made a super yummy dinner.

I slightly adapted a recipe from The Paleo Comfort Foods Cookbook, and it turned out divine.

First, I got sweet potato mash going. It’s just some potatoes in a sauce pan with chicken stock, simmered until tender.  Then I mashed the crap outta it with some coconut milk and coconut oil.  I could have just eaten that and been happy.

But I had a man waiting for meat, so I browned up some ground beef and garlic, followed by bell peppers, onions, and celery.  I added the beef back in with the veggies, and threw in some worcestershire, balsamic vinegar, and Wolfgang Puck’s vodka sauce (ya, it’s paleo, I checked a million times.  except for the vodka, don’t hate).

After simmering for a few, I dumped it into this beautiful dish Cj’s momma gave me (THANK YOU!), covered it with the sweet potato mash, and threw on some leftover chopped walnuts I had chillin.  It baked for about 25 minutes, and tasted absolutely fabulous when it was done.  More fabulous than it looks.

This is one of those dinners that made me count down the minutes until breakfast so I could have more.  Sooooo good. I actually think there’s still one more serving left in the fridge.  If Cj touches it, he’s dead.

Today’s lunch was also super good, although I won’t be killing anyone for eating the leftovers.  Cj picked the recipe out of my new cookbook.  I was a bit surprised that he selected chicken satay with “peanut” sauce, but hell, I wasn’t about to complain.  I marinated a ginormous chicken breast in coconut milk, fresh ginger, curry powder, and garlic before heading to work today.

 I baked it off when I got home.  Sheesh, it took FOREVER.  Next time I’m sticking with the breasts of a normal sized chicken. It went perfectly with the not so peanuty peanut sauce and some roasted broccoli.

The picture looks shitty, ignore that part.

We both loved this meal as well.  I’m excited to eat up the leftover sauce in the coming days.

I’m sure its good with just about any protein, or scooping straight out of the container.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have some giant T-bone steaks to grill up!!

Oh ya, check my saweeet nails….

Leave a Reply

