We Found Shamu

So I gotta be honest.  We have been cheating up the wazu around here.

Not cheating as in “give me all the gluten you can”, but more like ” wellllll, technically this is paleo, there’s no bun so it’s all good”.

Yes, we still aren’t eating gluten, grains, and legumes, but we are tiptoeing the paleo line, wobbling as we go.

For instance, last night’s dinner was from Five Guys.

See! No bun, so it’s totally paleo.  Wrong.

I got the bacon burger with pickles, grilled onions, green peppers, ketchup, and mustard all wrapped up in some lettuce.

It was delicious, but it wasn’t whole, fresh, home cooked good cookin’.

Another example: Today’s lunch was from a local mexican joint.  We had a living social type deal, and today was the day we cashed in.

Fajitas!!!

Sans tortillas, beans, and rice.

We split the Chicken & Steak Fajitas, and the Carnitas Fajitas.

They were super good, but I don’t even want to know what kind of oil it was all cooked in.

Oh ya, extra guac!!

The fajitas were the best paleo option on the menu, but then again the best paleo option would have been to NOT go in the first place.

Oh, and don’t even ask about the mandatory chip baskets at all restaurants.

(isn’t it obvious we downed those addicting fried corn tortillas)

To top it all off, Cj insisted on ordering deep fried ice cream to “use up all of our gift certificate”.

Ugh.  I had a few bites, bite me.

The fajitas were good, which I’m glad about cause they were my last “cheat” meal for a long while. I’ve had enough, and I’m ready to get back to true paleo eats: veggies, healthy fats, quality meats, all home cooked and delicious.

To make myself feel better about our mexi feast I dragged Cj out on a good 2.6 mile walk.  It was a hilly one, with some jogging and hill sprints thrown in.  I’m wiped.

As I was huffin’ and puffin’ along, I spotted this gentle giant in the bushes…

I think the poor thing is beached.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I had to laugh at the mention of the Five Guys with no bun. A couple weeks ago I posted about traveling for work and stopping in at In n Out Burger. I had a triple hamburger wrapped in lettuce and also rationalized that it was “as paleo as I can get given the circumstances.” LOL

    1. Ah, I love In-n-Out !!! I always order their burgers “protein style” haha I like your style 🙂

  2. Shanny says:

    LMAO! I couldn’t figure out where you were going with the title…..that was cute!

    I totally notice the difference when I’m “technically” doing the acceptable things….but my body knows the difference even when my mind tries to convince it otherwise!

    1. hehe thank you!! same with me, my body is so much smarter than my mind !

Leave a Reply

