Whole30 Day 3: Here Fishy Fishy

Sweat Sesh: 45 min Kundalini yoga class

It was intense.  By the end of the class my thighs felt like jelly, and my lower abs were on fire. I’m taking it as a sign I’ve neglected them for far too long.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

A few months ago Cj and I tried Brussels sprouts for the first time.  To put it lightly, we hated them. I had sautéed them up following a coconutty recipe, but couldn’t stomach more than a couple bites.

Knowing how nutritious they are I was determined to like them, so this time around I tried a different method: roasting.

I cut off the bottoms, peeled off the outer leaves, tossed them in coconut oil, salt, and pepper, then roasted them at 425 for a while. I flipped them half way through to make sure they got browned all around.

I’m a convert! They were delicious and addicting in a salty-sweet snack way.  The crispy leaves were my favorite.

I may or may not have eaten the whole bowl.

While we’re on the topic of salty snacks, check out my new shirt…

So glad Target supports paleo lovers 🙂

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Yesterday’s breakfast was quick.  I gobbled up a hard-boiled egg and a small handful of roasted nuts.  Washed down with an iced black coffee, I was a happy camper all morning.

Lunch was a yummy salad topped with leftovers.  Shocker, I know.

This one had spinach, mixed greens, orange bell pepper, celery, a hard egg, leftover herbed pork loin, a sprinkling of pecans, and the leftover italian vinaigrette.  It got way tastier overnight!

I love meaty salads.  Eggs don’t hurt either.

The salad was big enough to keep me full until after yoga.  I did snack on some nuts, but that’s been a given lately.

After yoga I roasted up a tray of asparagus…

… seasoned up some flounder fillets with pink Himalayan salt (so fancy), curry powder, garlic powder, and black pepper…

… then threw it into a hot pan with coconut oil.

After a few minutes on each side, the fish was done! I reheated some leftover root vegetables/ cauli mash and pulled out the asparagus.

Loved this dinner! The curry fish was so tasty, not fishy at all. I’m picky about that.

The veggies were just as good reheated, and the asparagus was bomb too.  We are loving it lately, gotta get as much as we can while it’s relatively cheap.

Even though it’s only been three days on the Whole30 challenge, I feel like it’s already mentally easier.

Bring it on day 4.

P.S. Remember my hunt for sugar-free bacon? Well yesterday I bought a bunch through US Wellness Meats! My first order from them, I can’t wait to get it! I’ll share more once it arrives 🙂

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Shanny says:

    Oh, I love brussels sproutes, any way I can get them! I’ve never roasted them though, I’ll have to try!

  2. Chelsea says:

    Awesome job with the challenge! This fish sounds amazing! I’ve been wanting to try doing a cauliflower mash, but haven’t had the guts yet. I really need to!

    1. thanks! You should def try it 🙂 our favorite way is to cook it up in some chicken stock along with a few garlic cloves. Once it’s super tender I puree it with a tbsp of grass-fed butter, salt, and pepper. Delish!

  3. aharman11 says:

    Yummm! Looks so good! I have always wanted to order from US wellness meats… but never have lol Let me know how you like the bacon!

  4. aifrances says:

    You have a yummy blog! =) I love how the asparagus and the fish look. They must have tasted amazing!

    1. thank you!!!! fish and asparagus are heavenly together 🙂

Leave a Reply

