Cantaloupe Popsicles (aka My Ice Cream Fix)

Mmm, summer.

I don’t know about you, but for me summer=ice cream.  Well, winter also equals ice cream, so I guess summer just equals air conditioning and a sun burnt boyfriend.

Basically, whatever the season I want ice cream.

This is weird because I wasn’t always an ice cream girl.  Sure I liked it, but it wasn’t something I just had to have.  Can’t say that’s true anymore.  Most nights ice cream sounds delish, any kind any where.  I’m easy like that.

I’m also lazy.  Who wants to put real clothes on once you’re home and in “loungewear” (aka old sweats and a dirty sweatshirt)? Not me.  Since my ice cream loving booty ate all our coconut ice cream last night, and since I let fruit sit on the counter for way too long until it reaches that point of too ripe and always regret doing so, I made my own damn ice cream.

These days, anything cold and frozen and yummy counts as ice cream.  It was a rough break up with Ben & Jerry, let’s not relive it.

Three ingredients (weird, again?) and a few hours later I had my ice cream.

Easy never tasted so good.

Trust me, I know easy.

Cantaloupe Popsicles

makes about 24 popsicles

1 cantaloupe

1 can coconut milk (2 cups, preferably full-fat)

zest and juice of one lime

Cut up cantaloupe and place in food processor.  Pour in coconut milk. Add lime zest and juice.  Blend until smooth, or until desired consistency.

Pour into popsicle molds and let freeze.

I had more popsicle mix than popsicle molds, so I poured the rest into a glass dish and will eat it as granita/ice cream.

Lick.

Mmmmm.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Sarah says:

    AWESOME RECIPE!!! 🙂 Love the use of coconut milk instead of greek yogurt!

    1. Thank you! Coconut milk has become a kitchen obsession!

  2. vivilinh says:

    ohhh! with lime!? this sounds great!

    1. Lime makes all things better 🙂

Leave a Reply

