Mojito Iced Green Tea

Drink this.  It’s good.

It’d be better with a shot or two of rum, but since I’m trying, tryyyyying, to do that whole clean eating thing I’m passing on the rum (for now). I’m also passing on spending 3 hard earned dollars per day buying huge iced teas from Starbucks (for now).  Those darn drinks have my heart, and while I have a lot of love for Starbucks teas, I have more love for money.  So until there’s more green floating around there will be less trentas for me.

Enter the need for me to have tea always stocked at home.  I’m in too big a rush from sleeping in too long to even think about opening a tea bag in the morning.  Seriously, why would I ever get out of bed before I absolutely need to?  It’s warm and comfy, and you know, work isn’t.

Speaking of how uncomfortable work is, anybody else freeze all day because the giant office building insists on being -20 degrees? I don’t get it, it’s summer people! I shouldn’t have to wear pants and sweaters all summer long just to survive the frigid temps, and then instantly start sweating as soon as I step outside at 5pm.  It’s not fun or pretty.  Rather the opposite actually.

By the time I hoof it to the parking garage, make it up 3 flights of stairs, look for my car, remember I parked on the 2nd floor, go back down the stairs, and finally find my car all I want is a nice, cold, strong drink and an air conditioned building.  I’m not complicated or anything.  So, back to this whole clean eating thing.

Basically, I like eating clean, but deep down only want the yummiest, tastiest, unclean foods possible.  I like drinking water, but secretly would just rather have a drink.  So what’s a girl to do?

Drink this.

Mojito Iced Tea

8 tea bags, preferably green tea

6-8 springs of mint (I used a whole little package), slightly smashed just to release the oils

1 lime, sliced into slices

1 peach, halved

8 cups water

Tie tea bags together and place in large pot.  Add lime slices, halved peach, mint sprigs, and water.  Let sit  in fridge for at least 4 hours, but up to 12, depending on how strong you like it.  I tasted it after four and thought the mint was strong enough, so I removed the mint and let it sit for two more hours.  Really, it’s up to you.  When ready, strain tea into pitcher and serve cold.  I thought it was perfect when mixed 1/2 tea and 1/2 fresh cold water.

Now where’s that rum?

4 Comments Add yours

  1. cebrought says:

    Gonna have to try that! It looks so refreshing.

  2. Cate says:

    Wow- that looks incredible! I buy mint every week and always seem have some leftover… next time I’m so making this instead of tossing it 🙂

    1. Thank you! I love easy recipes that use leftover ingredients, let me know know how it is!

  3. Tammy says:

    This looks so delicious and refreshing! I’m definitely going to try it.

Leave a Reply

