Southwestern Succotash

One might say I’m a picky eater. I wouldn’t say that because I like avocados, sausage, tomato sauce, and looooveeee Indian food. Four things I DETESTED growing up, but now four things I eat regularly.

Then again I still can’t stand olives, won’t take a bite of offal, and mushrooms give me the jeebies. You say picky, I say less picky than CJ. It’s true, that guy still can’t stand fruit touching his food (except when it’s this, or this)

Either way my taste buds are more accepting and my horizons are expanding. The possibilities grow each day and new flavors are continuously intriguing. Who am I kidding? Now I just get more weird, random cravings. Mostly for chicken tikka masala, never for tomatoes.

Except when they’re in this succotash. I don’t even notice them, which if you ask me is the perfect way to eat tomatoes: unnoticeably. That way I still get all the good lycopene without any of the nappy taste. win/win.

Also a win/win: shopping on Amazon. I get hard to find things, like this ghee, shipped right to me without every getting off my butt. Yes, that’s a win. Just trust me, it is.

Anyways, this succotash is super good and super full of healthy things. I’m still trying to recover from my weekend of too many vegetables if you couldn’t tell. Wish I was pickier when it came to sweets, but so far I haven’t encountered a dessert I just couldn’t eat.

Onions! That’s another food I used to hate, but now love. Really love, despite the whole bad breath issue. CJ isn’t as on board yet, but oh well he’ll come around… or stop kissing me. Praying for the first.

By the way, anyone know what succotash actually is?

Besides really, really good.

Southwestern Succotash

1 poblano pepper

1 jalapeño pepper

1 onion

2 zucchini

1 bell pepper

1 tomato

5 cloves of garlic, more if they’re small like mine

1 1/2 tbsp ghee, or cooking oil of choice

1/2 tbsp cumin

2 tsp chile powder

pinch of oregano

1 cup coconut milk

salt and pepper

cilantro (optional)

Preheat broiler. Place poblano pepper and jalapeño pepper on a dry baking sheet and broil until fully charred, turning peppers as needed. Remove from heat, place in a bowl, and cover with plastic wrap.

Chop onion, zucchini, bell pepper, tomato, and garlic. In a dutch oven or large heavy pan heat 1 tbsp ghee over medium-high heat. Add onion and a generous pinch of salt, cooking until onions become transparent, about 5 minutes. While the onion is cooking remove peppers from bowl. Peel the skin off the poblano, cut the top off, deseed, and chop. Carefully, remove the top of the jalapeño, deseed (leave the seeds if you like things spicy), and chop. Add the peppers and remaining vegetables to the onions.

Add cumin, chile powder, oregano, about 1/2 tsp pepper, and another pinch of salt. Cook about one minute. Add coconut milk and continue cooking until vegetables are cooked and sauce has thickened, about 10 minutes.

Remove from heat and garnish with chopped cilantro.

I served it with leftover carnitas and hot sauce.

Picky or not, you’ll want this. Trust the picky eater.

19 Comments Add yours

  1. Shanny says:

    That looks so good! And uses things in season which is great! What if I can’t find a poblano pepper though, does that matter?

    1. It won’t make a big difference at all ! Use what ya got 🙂 !

  2. Alex says:

    Mmm, looks delicious! I love peppers, but I have some pepper haters in my house, so I might have to make a pepperless version….
    It will help me deal with my massive amounts of zucchini, though!

    1. It would be good with any veggies, use what ya got!!

  3. Sarah says:

    canned coconut milk or the more liquid kind?

    1. the canned kind! It’ll turn out creamier with it 🙂

      1. Ew.. mushrooms and olives.. *shudder* 🙂

        I love tomatoes and onions.. but still scared of zucchini 😦

      2. Whoo! I’m not the only one then 🙂

        Zucchini is great! Super mild, this dish doesn’t have zucchini taste 🙂 tastes more southwestern-y than like any one veggie

      3. That’s what I need.. finding ways to hide veggies from myself.. hehe.

      4. Try something like this then! It’s how I “trick” my guy 😉

  4. Logan Wilson says:

    This was fantastic! I was concerned about the coconut milk because I am still partial to regular milk. Since I’m not quite comfortable yet cooking with coconut milk and I had a 14oz can and didn’t want the remainder to spoil, I just dumped the whole can in. It took quite a while to reduce but the end result was worth it! Delicious recipe!

    1. thanks! Glad you enjoyed it 🙂 hope ya keep playing around with coconut milk!

  5. Kim says:

    Growing up in the South, succotash was always lima beans and corn!!!

Leave a Reply

