Pumpkin N’oatmeal (Paleo “Oatmeal”)

I’m an impatient person. I like to think that’s not the case, but this breakfast proves otherwise.

I’m also one of those people who get all cranky when stores pump Halloween decorations in September, and then roll out the Christmas Decorations just in time to say “trick or treat”. Can’t we savor and enjoy one holiday at a time without having to think ahead to the next? Seriously Target, I love you, but slow it down!!

Having said that…. I CAN’T WAIT FOR FALL !!!!! The smells, the scarves, the leaves, the feeling in the air, and the pumpkin! Oh, the pumpkin. I’ve been dreaming of all things pumpkin, which led to an irresistible urge to have pumpkin. Like, right now. On a 100 degree September day. I blame Target. Not only for the need to have pumpkin, but for also craving hot soups, chills, and oatmeals.

I never wanted oatmeal so bad in my life. It’s what I wake up wanting each and every day. Even for lunch I want oatmeal. Ridiculous right? I mean, I wake up sweating most mornings cause it’s so dang hot, and then I want oatmeal. Hot, hot oatmeal. Makes perfect sense. At least it does to the girl with pumpkin cravings in September.

Pumpkin N’oatmeal (Paleo Oatmeal)

inspired and adapted from Katie Did

1/2 cup pumpkin puree

1/2 cup coconut milk, plus more for drizzling

2 tbsp coconut flour

1 egg

1/2-1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice

1/2-1 tbsp maple syrup

1 tbsp walnuts

1/2 tbsp flaked coconut

In a small pan/pot toast walnuts and flaked coconut over medium heat. should take about 5-8 minutes. set aside.

Add pumpkin, coconut milk, and coconut flour to the small pot and cook over medium heat. Stir the mixture really well so that the coconut flour incorporates smoothly. Cook about a minute. Crack one egg into pot and stir until combined. Stir in cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, and vanilla. Continue cooking for about 4 minutes, until a smooth, thick texture is achieved. Don’t over cook or it will get lumpy and dry!!

Serve with additional coconut milk, maple drizzle (if you like it a bit sweeter) and toasted walnuts & coconut.

If you’re going the sugar free route sub in a ripe mashed banana for the maple.

Craving demolished… until tomorrow

65 Comments Add yours

  1. Kelly says:

    YUM! This looks so good. I am with you…SO READY FOR FALL. I live in Texas and I swear I live in hell during the summer. I love hot breakfasts but I can stomach them in the summer. I will quite literally sweat for hours afterwards. 😦

    1. Kelly says:

      can’t stomach them in the summer.

    2. Glad I’m not the only one!! I’ve been dreaming of a Texas life for years 🙂

  2. I think I need this in my life.. I miss oatmeal breakfasts since trying to go paleo.. definitely will try this soon!

    1. Same!! this did the trick for me 🙂

  3. Do you use whole fat coconut milk in a can? or the kind in the carton?

    1. I use canned! The carton kind would work, but it wouldn’t be as creamy… Or have as many healthy fats!

      1. Good.. that’s what I have! (courtesy of amazon lol) I tried the Almond Breeze coconut milk.. and mehhhh.

      2. Not a huge fan myself! As for the cans, I eat that stuff straight from the fridge 🙂

  4. Amanda says:

    This looks so delicious!! I’ve made the NOatmeal from Mark’s Daily Apple, but haven’t tried another version yet. Can’t wait!!

    1. I haven’t made his yet! I’ll have to take a peek 🙂 thank you!

  5. livesimplysimplylearnLori says:

    Hi,

    I am craving fall as well. Especially today, as the temperature is 102 where I live. With high humidity. Ick.

    Is this a one serving recipe? Or, could I possibly feed myself and two kiddos with it?

    Thanks!

    Lori

    1. Oh my gosh I’d melt!!

      This makes one big bowl, but it’s suuuuper filling, like hard to finish the last few bites. I bet if you served this with some bacon or other protein it could feed more than one.

  6. Stacy says:

    This looks fantastic! I am getting ready to start a Whole30, do you think maple syrup is necessary for it? Or any suggestions on a sub for the syrup?

    Thanks for the recipe!

    1. It’s not necessary, but it adds the sweet factor. Since whole30 is no sugars, perhaps 1/2 a mashed super ripe banana would do the trick?!

      1. Stacy says:

        That’s what my thought was, too. I’ll give it a try soon and let you know!

      2. awesome 🙂 ! Thank you

  7. yayyy looks incredible!!

  8. Kate B. says:

    I just made this recipe and i’m enjoying it now as i type! It’s so great and is much better than other paleo oatmeals I’ve tried. I did substitute almond milk in place of the coconut and added a little vanilla protein powder for sweetness instead of maple syrup. I think the meal is doing it’s job as a nourishing post-workout meal. Thanks 🙂

    1. girlmeetspaleo says:

      SOO glad you enjoyed it!! I bet protein powder in it is delish

  9. Melissa says:

    Wondering if anyone tried it with the banana yet?

    1. girlmeetspaleo says:

      I have! If the banana is super ripe I just use half, otherwise I use the whole thing. No maple needed, and it’s still yummy 🙂

  10. Jessica says:

    I just made this and I eat W30 on a regular basis, so I don’t really need much sweet, but adding a couple of chopped dates (not the hard little bit kind) added A LOT. This will be great with a couple of hard boiled eggs to eat breakfast at work

    1. LOVE the idea of adding dates! Glad you enjoy it 🙂

  11. Giuliana says:

    Hi there!!!

    Thanks for this recipe! Saved my butt this morning for breakfast — I made a few modifications (due to necessity) but it still turned out delicious and filling! I’ve always been reluctant to try these sorts of recipes but I am so glad I did!! Thank you!!

    1. SO glad you enjoyed it!! Thank you 🙂 !

  12. Becca says:

    Wow, this was beyond what I expected. So delicious. As you can tell I was a bit skeptical, but was craving oatmeal. This recipe did not disappoint!

    1. oh I’m so glad!! thank you 🙂

  13. itssssmonica says:

    I love pumpkin oatmeal 🙂 and frequently use this recipe… I am SO curious about your serveware though. It’s really cute!

    1. thank you!! so glad you enjoy it 🙂 I believe those dishes are from Target!

  14. Erin Glenski says:

    I just made this recipe and it is delicious! Thank you!

    1. you rock! thank you 🙂

  15. Denise says:

    Yummy! This has become one of my favorite breakfasts!

    1. so glad you like it!!! thank you 🙂

  16. Shannon says:

    Super yummy! Thanks so much.

  17. Brandi says:

    Made this (eating now) and it is delish! Tried another recipe that was very eggy. Tasted like pumpkin mixed with scrambled eggs. Yuck. This however is delish! I doubled the recipe, used twice the coconut, sliced almonds instead of walnuts, a drizzle of honey instead of maple syrup and used trader joe’s light coconut milk.

    1. sooo happy you enjoyed it!! Thank you!

  18. Julie says:

    Eating this now…delicious!! Thank you! It was just posted by Just Eat Real Food on Facebook. I happened to have extra canned pumpkin in my fridge that needed to get used, so it was perfect! I added a pinch of sea salt to get that salty-sweet thang going on!

    1. Thank you for the heads up on that post! How awesome 🙂 ! Soo glad you enjoy it !

  19. danilynnbali says:

    This was so good!!! I love the walnuts and coconut in there for the added crunch factor. YUM!

    1. So happy you enjoyed it!! Thank you !

  20. Kelly says:

    This looks really good, something different than eggs.

    1. Thank you !!! It’s a nice change up from the norm 🙂

  21. Katie Fisher says:

    Could this be made in a microwave?
    Kitchen-less college student. 😑

    1. eeek, I’m not sure!! I’ve never tried that. Let me know how it goes if you try!

  22. Thanks for this! I’ve been meaning to try it again (first time I forgot the egg– what a fail!) and now since it’s fall, I have a HUGE container of pumpkin waiting to be used!
    This was the best way to kick off October mmm. I did make one modification at the end that I’ll share– when it was done, before drizzling the extra maple and milk, I mixed a couple teaspoons of coconut sugar with some of the pumpkin pie spice and sprinkled it in and mixed it all in– YUM! IT added a nice little extra pop of sweetness and flavor

    Thanks again– can’t wait to make it again and try out some more recipes 🙂

    1. SOOO glad you enjoyed it!! Love the addition of coconut sugar !

  23. LP says:

    Do you think this recipe is good to make ahead of time? Like tripling (or more) the recipe and dividing/refrigerating it for on the go meal?

    1. I haven’t tried that before so I’m not sure. If you do try it let me know how it works out!

  24. Susy says:

    Omg this is so freaking delicious. I had to stop myself from eating it all up. I’m just starting my paleo lifestyle, i had no clue that this would be so yummy. BTW had your Mexican tack salad for dinner. Omg, I so loved it. Can’t wait to try your pumpkin recipes for dinner tomorrow. Thank you for sharing

    1. SOO glad you enjoyed it !!! Thank you 🙂 !!

Leave a comment