Roasted Plantain & Sweet Potato Mash

I’ve been all over fall flavors lately, but today I realized something: Summer is almost (kind of) over.

*gulp*

Whaaaaaat? You mean fresh berries at the farmer’s market and herbs outside my door won’t be around forever? Well crap.

This happens every year.  I get sick of the heat and start dreaming of Fall, then before I know it it’s freezing and wet outside.

Really, really wet.  Thanks, Oregon.

Before that happens (and before I permanently live in Ugg boots and yoga pants) I want to enjoy the rest of summer.  I want to eat fresh fruit, crisp salads, and…. roasted sweet potatoes? Ok, that doesn’t sound too summery, but I swear the plantain changes things.  It makes this a bright tasting side dish perfect for grilled burgers or a late night snack with cold coconut milk drizzled on top (yes, that’s happened.  twice.)

Speaking of cold coconut milk, I’m OBSESSED with eating the thickened coconut milk that rises to the top of the can when it’s been in the refrigerator overnight.  So obsessed I’ve figured out which brands do it the best (A Taste of Thai), and which brands are best for pouring over fruits and nuts (Thai Kitchen) for impromptu “cereal”. Yum.  I’ve been pouring coconut milk into everything lately, including this mash.  It makes it… creamier.  And just better.

I enjoy mashes to be somewhat thicker, but if you’re fond of smoother mashes feel free to add more coconut milk to this one.  It’s pretty thick as is, but that’s how I like love it.

Roasted Plantain & Sweet Potato Mash

2 ripe plantains (not green ones)

2 medium sweet potatoes

1 tbsp + 1 tsp coconut oil

1/2 cup coconut milk

1/2 tsp cinnamon

salt to taste

Preheat oven to 375.  Peel plantains and chop into 1″ chunks.  Peel sweet potato and dice (should be smaller than the plantain chunks).  Toss plantains and potatoes in 1 tbsp melted coconut oil and place on a sheet tray.  Bake about 35 minutes or until both are fork tender.

Remove from oven and dump into a large mixing bowl.  Add the remaining 1 tsp coconut oil, coconut milk, and cinnamon.  Mash until desired consistency is reached, adding coconut milk as necessary.  Season with a pinch of salt and serve!

I love you, Summer.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. this is SO completely something I would love. thank you!!

    1. what’s not to love ?! enjoy 🙂

  2. Jessica says:

    OMG. I have a marathon in a week and this sounds like the perfect! carb loading meal. Thanks!

    1. No, thank you! and kudos on the marathon!!

Leave a Reply

