Smoked Paprika Roasted Chicken Thighs

I need to get something of my chest.  Not a big something, just a little something, but a something nonetheless.

I have been eating WAY TOO MUCH sugar.  Not just too much for someone who’s supposed to be sugar free for 30 days (oops), but too much sugar for any one person halfway trying to be healthy.  Ugh.  Apparently dessert of froyo and half a candy bar wasn’t enough so I had to go and top it off with a FAT slice of gluten free blackberry pie WITH vanilla coconut ice cream. I repeat, UGHHH.

I just can’t quite you, sugar.  Well, I’m sure I can, but right now I don’t seem to be trying hard enough. I’ve been following the Whole30 perfectly… except for the whole no sugar part. Which, ya know, is only THE MOST IMPORTANT PART of the plan aside from that no-gluten thing.  For dinner I want something sugary.  And then something cold and sugary for dessert.  Waking up I want something hot and sugary, probably due to all the sugar I ate the day before. I’m stuck on the sugar roller coaster. So what do I make for dinner instead of maple doused pancakes?

Something that in no way, shape, or form resembles sugar.  Something that would not only be good for dinner, but would also be good for breakfast.  Something that would sound better than waffles or ice cream early in the morning.  Something I could eat with eggs or with kale or with zucchini.

Something like… chicken.  Like spicy chicken.  Something like this.

Cumin Roasted Chicken

6 bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs

1 tbsp smoked paprika

3/4 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp dry mustard

1/2 tsp freshly cracked pepper

1/2 tsp salt

1 tbsp ghee or butter

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Mix together spice mixture.  Rub ghee and spices into chicken, making sure to get it under the skin. Really get in there and massage the flavors into the chicken.  Place in a baking dish and roast 25-30 minutes, or until chicken is cooked through to an internal temperature of 165.

Remove from oven and eat.

Sugar who?

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Shanny says:

    Oh man, I am so with you on the sugar! I used to be a smoker and while it’s been 5 years since I’ve had a cigarette, I know if I sparked one up right now I’d be back to a pack a day in about week. So why do we not see sugar as the addictive substance that it actually is?? Why don’t we treat it accordingly? I have no fricking clue, but it’s something that I struggle with constantly. Sometimes I do better than others and can avoid and/or indulge respectably. Other times it’s a G’damn free for all. Dislike. Good luck!

    1. Kudos for not smoking anymore!!!! Glad to know I’m not the only one fighting the sugar demon… let’s kick him in the nuts 😉

  2. paleoinpdx says:

    Yum, looks perfect and the skin looks nice and crispy, just the way I like it! I will be trying these soon!

    1. Crispy skin is a must!

  3. Salina says:

    I was paleo for a year and then got off track for a year. Now I’m on day 4 of eating paleo again. I turn to super sweet fruits, like cherries and black grapes, to deal with the sugar cravings. I also tend to eat a lot of fat because I love fat, and i’ve read in some paleo literature that increasing fat intake decreases sugar cravings. This time around I’m coming off a huge sugar binge, but it feels really good to be eating paleo again. So clean!

    1. awesome that you’re back at it!! I deff agree that eating more fats helps with the sugar cravings 😉

  4. mraysby says:

    Smoked paprika is a new favorite seasoning of mine. I’m still testing it out. Any suggestions?

    1. Same here! I’ve mainly been using it to season up proteins, I love how just a little bit adds a nice smokey kick.

  5. kate and jim says:

    omg these are like candy! my hubby and i wolfed down all six…def need to up the dose next time!

    1. thank you!! so glad you both enjoyed them 🙂 !!

  6. EllenG says:

    I just took these out of the oven. YUM! Too bad I only had 4 thighs to make this. I lowered the oven temperature to 350 and cooked them for an hour. I also used coconut oil instead of butter. The skin was sweet, smokey, salty and crunchy as potato chips and the meat was juicy and tender. I am definitely making this again.

    1. SOOOO glad you enjoyed them!!!

Leave a Reply

