Simple Honey Granola (Gluten/Grain Free)

Since going paleo there are certain things I miss.  Certain things that really can’t be replicated without losing their trueness.

Things like oatmeal cookies, my mom’s enchiladas, pumpkin beer, southwestern egg rolls from Chilis, and a piece of crunchy, seed-filled toast.  Sure, they’re things that I may be better off without, but that doesn’t stop me from dreaming about them.  Seriously, last night I had a dream that involved eating oatmeal cookies and washing them down with pumpkin beer.  It was the best dream.  Ever.

Luckily, many things I miss can be replicated, and they actually turn out pretty darn good.  Things like cookies, enchilada bowls, pumpkin “oatmeal”, hummus, and now… granola.   I didn’t realize how much I liked granola until I couldn’t have it.  Before, I would eat it occasionally, but never too often for I feared its sugary calorie count.

But ever since I cut out oats ALL I WANT ARE OATS.  I want oatmeal cookies, and giant bowls of hot, steamy oatmeal, and oatmeal cakes and oaty granola.  I’ve wanted granola sooo bad lately it’s ridiculous.  It doesn’t help that every other picture on my instagram feed is a food topped with granola.  Yumm, granola on sweet potatoes sounds way too good.

I couldn’t go another day without having granola in my life.  Like, really I was going to die.  Either that or I was going to chop of CJ’s head.  He’s kinda fond of it though (ok ok, so am I) so I went ahead and replicated the real thing.

Turned out pretty darn good.

Simple Honey Granola (Gluten/Grain free)

This granola isn’t too sweet, so feel free to add more sweetener if you like.

1 cup raw, sliced almonds, divided

½ cup raw chopped walnuts

½ raw sunflower seeds

¼ raw pepitas

1 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

1 egg white

2 tsp cinnamon

1 tbsp coconut oil, melted

2 tbsp honey,melted

1/2 tbsp vanilla

pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 200 degrees.

Add the almonds, walnuts, cunflower seeds, pepitas, and coconut to a food processor.  Pulse a few times, just until everything is roughly chopped.  Add in the egg white, melted coconut oil and honey, cinnamon, vanilla,  and the pinch of salt, pulsing a few more times until everything is combined.   Transfer the mixture to a lined sheet pan. Spread the mixture out evenly.  Bake about 3 hours, mixing every now and then, until desired crunch is achieved.

I let mine bake for about 2 hours, 50 minutes because I was impatient, but wish it had gone longer to get just a bit crunchier.  keep in mind it will harden slightly after baking.

Let cool and store in an air tight jar.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I need to go microwave a sweet potato…

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

