my favorite way to eat cauliflower rice

I’m one of those people who get stuck in the past.

DSC_0113

N’Sync? Still love them. Vanilla creamosa? Please, I’d kill for one right now.

DSC_0131

There’s just something about indulging in old favorites that feels so good. Like time only made it that much better.

Except when that old favorite is a rice bowl doused in soy sauce.

DSC_0135

Time (and knowledge) has definitely made that old favorite less appealing.. and yet it still sounds sooooo good. I swear it crosses my mind at least once a week. I still crave the comfort that comes with that rice. My best friend all throughout grade school and I used to eat it religiously. Watching movies, going shopping, freaking out over school dances… it all ended with laughs and special rice.

DSC_0149

Rice, soy sauce, nutritional yeast, and lots of fresh pepper. I drool just thinking about it.

DSC_0118

I don’t know why I didn’t think to make it with cauliflower before today. Guess that’s what I get for being too busy pouting over the lack of special rice in my life.

DSC_0147

Lucky for you I stopped pouting long enough to make this. And then devour it. And then pout some more because it was gone.

DSC_0142

Special Rice (cauli rice w/ coconut aminos, brewers yeast, and black pepper)

1 head of cauliflower

2 tbsp grass-fed butter (or ghee)

2 tbsp coconut aminos

1/4 cup nutritional yeast

fresh cracked black pepper and salt

Cut the head of cauliflower into florets. Heat a large saute pan over medium high heat and add the butter to the pan. Pulse the cauliflower until it’s texture resembles rice. Once the butter begins to sizzle dump all the cauliflower into the pan. Add a good pinch of salt and about 1 tsp of fresh cracked pepper. Stir to combine and let cook a few minutes.

Add the coconut aminos and nutritional yeast, and stir to combine. Place a lid over the pan and let cook another minute or two. Remove lid, stir, and continue cooking until rice is tender, but not soft. I like it with some bite left. Taste, and add salt and pepper as needed.

Servce in giant bowls and enjoy 🙂

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Linds says:

    this looks delicious!

  2. Tara says:

    I love cauliflower rice! I never thought to combine it with Brewer’s yeast though! I can’t wait to try this recipe with a stir fry!

    1. yum!! Hope you enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

