lemon & sage flank steak

Sshh, don’t tell my mom.

DSC_0160

I may have made it very known just how much I hated sage growing up. Like, verrrrrry known. Some might say I was a bit dramatic, but trust me… nothing compares to the sausage dramatics of ’04 (a story for another time).

DSC_0166

All good now though, I’ve sorta fallen in love with sage. In fact, I like it so much I’ve been throwing it in everything lately. Eggs, cauli mash, chicken, and now… beef. It is sooo good with steak, especially this steak with lemon. Take my word for it, you want this.

DSC_0158

The marinade makes the meat oh so tender, and the lemon and sage add a ton of flavor. Like, so much flavor I don’t know what to do. Except eat the sagey steak.

Lemon & Sage Flank Steak

2lb flank steak, silver skin and excess fat removed, thinly sliced against the grain

1/4 cup olive oil

1/4 cup fresh lemon juice

1tbsp freshly grated lemon zest

1/3 cup finely chopped sage

1/2 onion, thinly sliced

2-3 garlic cloves, minced

In a large dish combine all ingredients. Mix to combine so all of the steak is evenly coated. Let marinate in fridge for at least an hour, and up to 6.

Remove meat from fridge and let come to room temperature before cooking.

In a large skillet or sauté pan heat 1/2 tbsp over medium high heat. Lightly sprinkle salt over the meat. Working in batches cook the steak and onion pieces about two minutes on the first side, then flip and cook an additional minute, or until steak is cooked to your liking. Remove cooked steak and let it rest on a plate. Add oil as needed until all the meat has been cooked.

Once the meat has rested a few minutes, dig in!

DSC_0155

Mmm, sage. I love it.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. mariastrate says:

    wow, now i’m really hungry! If you’d just cook for me, i’d be so healthy and skinny! ha ha.

    1. hahahaha 🙂 thank you!

  2. paleoinpdx says:

    Yum, this looks wonderful!

    1. thank you!! I still dream about your Alfredo sauce lol I need to make it ASAP!

Leave a Reply

