sugarless chocolate cupcakes (grain/gluten/dairy/sugar free)

I loooove my some cupcakes.  I also looooove me some sugar.

DSC_0213

Sadly, my body doesn’t love sugar as much as my taste buds do.  This is the only reason I have been doing my best to eat less sugar.  Less maple syrup, less honey, less coconut sugar, less of all the good stuff.

I about cried when I realized this meant less cupcakes and cookies.

DSC_0198

Thankfully, thaaaankfully….. I stumbled across a recipe of The Urban Poser’s for sugarless granola.  She’s a genius and used a date/banana mixture to sweeten the granola.  Upon licking the bowl of said mixture I had an epiphany. That mix was absolutely delicious, and I just knew it would be absolutely delicious as a sweetener in just about any other recipe.

DSC_0197

I was right.  These are delicious.

Sugarless Chocolate Cupcakes

12 dates

2 ripe bananas

1/3 cup coconut oil, room temp

2tsp vanilla

3 eggs

1/2 cup coco powder

2 tbsp coconut flour

1 tbsp instant espresso (optional, but it really makes the chocolate better)

2 tbsp coconut milk

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp apple cider vinegar

Put all of the dates in a large glass of warm water and let them soak for a couple of hours.  If your’e impatient (like me) a 20 minute soak will work.  You just want them to be pretty soft.

Preheat the oven to 350.  Dump the water from the date glass, remove the date pits, and place the dates into a bowl of a food processor.  Add in the bananas, vanilla, and coconut oil.  Mix until a puree forms.  Add in one egg at a time, mixing in between each one.  Sift in the coco powder, coconut flour, espresso powder, and baking soda.  Add in the coconut milk and vinegar, and mix until all combined.

In a lined cupcake tin, distribute the batter among the 12 holes, filling each one 3/4 full.  Bake at 350 for 22 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the middle of a cupcake comes out clean.

Remove from oven and let cool.

For the fruit topping, I mixed soft coconut oil and fruit-sweetened jam together.  I also recommend topping them with sunflower butter.  Both were delicious.

DSC_0212

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Erin Walker says:

    Yum!! These look amazing! I am a new follower. I started a gf/df/paleo blog and I’m learning all about this blogging thing! Thanks for the recipe!

    1. thank you !!! that’s awesome !! It’s a fun world to be a part of 🙂

  2. Sarah says:

    These look delicious! I was drooling when I saw you post them on IG! I always love your recipes!! 🙂

  3. Lazeo Paleo says:

    Wow! I thought I’d have to have my Paleo blog and a separate hush-hush blog about my cheating cupcakes. I definitely will try this one!

  4. These looks absolutely delicious! I can’t wait to give these a try…

    1. Thank you!! Hope you enjoy 🙂

  5. erika says:

    Go you for making these awesome looking cupcakes without sugar!! My goal is to someday wean myself off of all sugar…sigh. It’s an uphill battle. But these look amazing!

    1. Sugar is definitely my biggest weakness!! These are delicious and taste sweet even without it 🙂

  6. Gordon says:

    OMG I just made these and my world stopped. THANK YOU!!!

    1. SOOO happy you enjoyed them !!

Leave a Reply

