brown butter banana walnut muffins (grain/gluten free)

Before we get to the muffins, let’s talk about running.

brown butter banana walnut muffins - Girl Meets Paleo

Gross, I know. As much as I despise running and as much as I loathe doing it… I think I may be starting to like it just a little bit.  Sort of.  I’ve had dreams (ok, more like fantasies) of running a half marathon for years.  Since I was in decent shape way back in high school.

Side note: thinking about how long it’s been since I was in high school is just a tad bit depressing. I feel the exact same as I did back then.  Is that possible? Maybe I just trick myself into feeling like a high schooler to make my impending 24th birthday a little less daunting? Either way, 24 is coming up and I don’t like it one bit. At least I’ll always have the comforting fact that CJ is two years older. HA!

brown butter banana walnut muffins - Girl Meets Paleo

Anyways, I don’t know why and I’m sure it will kill me, but I want to run a half marathon.  So, I told some people about it knowing that if I kept it a secret it would die a secret and I would never get up off of my booty.  Problem is, now people know and now I actually have to run.  And now that I’ve been running I don’t hate it as much as I thought I would? Don’t get me wrong.  I still hate thinking about it and I still hate getting dressed and going to the gym.  I also hate the first few minutes, the last few minutes, and all the minutes in between, but what I don’t hate is how I feel after all the running.  I actually love how I feel afterwards.  It’s like I could conquer a small country, like I’m on top of the world.  Or, like I could eat all the muffins.

brown butter banana walnut muffins - Girl Meets Paleo

Brown Butter Banana Walnut Muffins

½ cup unsalted butter

2 bananas

½ cup maple syrup

4 eggs

½ cup coconut flour

½ cup tapioca flour

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp vanilla

½ tsp salt

½ cup chopped walnuts

Pre-heat oven to 350 and line a muffin pan with liners.

To brown the butter, cut the butter into tablespoons and place in a small pan over medium/medium low heat.  Once the butter has fully melted, start whisking (and don’t stop!).  Continue whisking as the butter begins to foam and bubble.  After about 5-8 minutes, the butter will get more transparent and you will be able to see little golden forming on the bottom of the pan.  Once you notice these browned bits, continue whisking another 30 seconds and then remove from heat and whisk another 30 seconds.  You don’t want the butter to burn (you will definitely know if it does!).  The butter should be a rich golden color and have a nutty fragrance.  Let cool while you prepare the rest of the muffin batter.

In a small mixing bowl, combine coconut flour, tapioca flour, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt.  In a large bowl, beat the bananas until they are mostly broken down (a few chunks are always a good thing).  Add the maple syrup and vanilla, and mix until combined.  Add the cooled brown butter and mix until combined.  One at a time, add each egg and mix until each one is fully incorporated before adding the next.  Slowly mix in the dry ingredients.

Pour the batter evenly into the 12 muffin liners.  Top each one with a sprinkling of the walnuts.  Bake for about 22 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean when inserted into the middle of a cupcake.

Remove from oven, let cool, and devour!

brown butter banana walnut muffins - Girl Meets Paleo

8 Comments Add yours

  1. I haven’t been able to run for the last six or seven months, and have another couple months before I can run again. Like you, I tend to like the after much, much more than the before or during, so I have been surprised just how much I have longed to run the last couple of weeks. I see someone running and I want to atop whatever I am doing and join. I don’t know if I will ever say I like running, but it’s clearly become important to me nevertheless!

    The feeling of finishing a half marathon or marathon rocks, BTW. It’s well worth all.the agonizing that precedes it.

    1. Thank you!! reinforcement that it’s worth it is always nice to hear ! I hope that you get to do what you like to do soon- even if it is running 🙂

  2. Charlotte says:

    Yummy! I use to be a runaholic 🙂 now I just do some weight training 2x week and yoga 3x a week!

    Goodluck!

    1. I love and miss yoga so much!! When I was a student I always took two classes a term! now, it’s sooo expensive in the real world! I suck at working out at home too lol boooo!

      1. Charlotte says:

        Eugene yoga has a community class on Sundays, just so you know! By donation… It’s awesome! It happens at the same time as my yin class so I don’t go to often but for people without a membership it rocks! Yoga even once a week can help 🙂

      2. Good to know!! thank you!

Leave a Reply

