curried chicken salad with mango & toasted coconut (dairy free)

Remember when I said my taste buds have expanded and I no longer hate ethnic food?

curried chicken salad w/ mango & toasted coconut

Well, curry fits into that category.  Used to hate it, now I love it.  I also used to hate mayonnaise, but now that I make my own with avocado oil I love it.  Taste buds are weird.  They’re always open to new experiences and yet stubborn at the same time.  They’re like the young twenty-somethings of the world.  Have I mentioned I’m turning 24 in the not too distance future? UGH.  I am and it’s killing me! 24 is so daunting, it’s the last year I can round down to 20.  I already go to bed by 9 and can’t stand loud things.  How’s it going to be at 24?!

curried chicken salad w/ mango & toasted coconut

Luckily, I still have a few more months before a total panic attack ensues.  In the meantime, I’m going to do my best to take my taste buds on as many wild nights as possible before it’s time they settle down.

curried chicken salad w/ mango & toasted coconut

Curried Chicken Salad with Mango & Toasted Coconut

1 bone-in chicken breast

½ tbsp coconut oil, melted

4 tbsp mayonnaise, preferably homemade

¾ tsp curry powder

juice of one lime

1 tsp freshly grated ginger

2 tbsp minced cilantro

4 green onions, white and light green parts minced

2 celery stalks, finely ficed

1 mango, diced

¼ cup coconut flakes

salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Rub the melted coconut oil all over the chicken breast, sprinkle it with salt and pepper, and roast for 45 minutes or until the internal temperature reaches 165 degrees.  Remove from oven and let cool.

In a small bowl, mix together the mayo, lime juice, curry powder, and ginger.  To a large bowl, add the celery, green onion, cilantro, and mango.  Once the chicken is cool, pull all the meat off and dice it.  Add the chicken to the large bowl, along with the curried mayo.  Mix together.

Heat a small pan over medium.  Toast the coconut in the pan until flakes begin to turn a light brown.  Stir the coconut to prevent it from burning.  Keep a close eye on it! It goes from toasted to burnt pretty fast.

Garnish the chicken salad with the coconut.  This is great served in lettuce wraps, in bell peppers, or eaten straight from the bowl!

curried chicken salad w/ mango & toasted coconut

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Meg says:

    you know i’ve been waiting for this recipe babe! ooooooo cannot wait! i will try to recreate one of my parents curry recipes and have it on the blog ❤ love you

Leave a comment